Gelatin: fish, bovine, halal, kosher


Our standard softgel capsules are manufactured using gelatin and we can accommodate a wide variety of capsule-fills using this technology.

We routinely manufacture capsules using gelatin from bovine sources; additionally, we manufacture capsules using fish gelatin which is a key point of differentiation for certain products and is a particular speciality of EuroCaps.


All our gelatin raw material complies with European legislation and comes with a Certificate of Suitability issued by EDQM (European Directorate for the Quality of Medicines & HealthCare) where required; it also undergoes rigorous quality checks by our Technical Department before we accept material for use.

Gelatin itself comprises chains of amino acids derived from collagen and is highly processed and purified into two types, namely acid-processed (Type A) and alkali-processed (Type B). These two have slightly differing technical properties and can be used individually or in blend form. Gelatin is available from a variety of animal sources however, as mentioned earlier, we only use material derived from bovine and fish species.

Our customers have a variety of religious and dietary requirements which we can accommodate and we can supply Halal and Kosher gelatins. We also have a vegetarian option.

Gelatin Products

Gelatin Products